Home :: PhD Program ::

PhD Program:

 

 Program Description | Courses | Resources | Requirements & Applications | Students

  • Alexander, Kaylee P.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    kaylee.alexander@duke.edu


  • Alvarez de Toledo, Felipe
    Advisor:
    Area:
    felipe.alvarez.de.toledo@duke.edu


  • Ao, Yiran
    Advisor:
    Area:
    yiran.ao@duke.edu


  • Bago, Ivana
    Advisor:
    Area:
    ivana.bago@duke.edu


  • Baltes, Elizabeth
    Advisor:
    Area: Classical and Hellenistic Greek sculpture Classical archaeology Spatial theory Public monuments
    Dissertation Title: Statues Speak @ Duke
    elizabeth.baltes@duke.edu, Research Assistant, Ph D Student


  • Bass, Patricia B.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    patricia.b.bass@duke.edu


  • Bateman, Anita N.
    Advisor:
    Area: Archival Science Contemporary African Photography Diaspora Studies/ Politics History of Italian East Africa History of Photography Horn of Africa Modern African Photography Nationalism Postcolonial Theory
    anita.bateman@duke.edu


  • Bray, Patricia L.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    patricia.bray@duke.edu


  • Bullock, Nathan F
    Advisor:
    Area: History, Theory, and Criticism of Architecture Theatre and Performance Studies Postcolonial Theory Citizenship Lacanian Psychoanalytic Theory Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan
    nathan.bullock@duke.edu


  • Choi, Jung E.
    Advisor: Mark B.N. Hansen
    Area: Visual Culture Theory & New Media Studies
    jung.choi@duke.edu


  • Desplanque, Kathryn
    Advisor:
    Area:
    kathryn.desp@duke.edu


  • Devine, Katherine
    Advisor:
    Area: Contemporary Art Intellectual Property Censorship Art Markets
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: “Transformed: Contemporary Art, Copyright Law, and Fair Use” (Advisors: Kristine Stiles and Hans J. Van Miegroet)
    katherine.devos@duke.edu


  • Dickens, Sarah J.
    Advisor:
    Area: Contemporary Global Art and Visual Culture Contemporary Southeast Art History 20th century Cambodian and Vietnamese Art History Modernism & Cultural Politics Genocide Studies Trauma Studies Post-Colonial Studies The Khmer Rouge
    sarah.dickens@duke.edu


  • Dodson, Alexandra
    Advisor:
    Area: Mendicant architecture in Italy Gothic sculpture Late medieval and early Renaissance painting Islamic Art Use of digital technologies for visualizing historic material
    alexandra.dodson@duke.edu, Instructional Staff, Grad Student


  • Donahue, Evan M.
    Advisor:
    Area: historical linguistics machine learning folklore cybernetics psychoanalysis surrealism structuralism phenomenology natural language processing animal communication
    evan.donahue@duke.edu


  • Dundas, Iara A.
    Advisor:
    Area: Ephemeral art and architecture Early modern theater Jesuit studies
    iara.dundas@duke.edu


  • Gaglia, Nicole Y.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    nicole.gaglia@duke.edu


  • Giles, Lucas
    Advisor:
    Area:
    lucas.giles@duke.edu


  • Gkiokas, Nikos
    Advisor:
    Area:
    nikos.gkiokas@duke.edu


  • Goknur, Sinan C.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    sinan.goknur@duke.edu


  • Ha, Jung Min
    Advisor: Stan Abe
    Area: Asian Art
    jungmin.ha@duke.edu, Instructional Staff, Grad Student


  • Iscen, Ozgun Eylul
    Advisor:
    Area:
    ozgun.eylul.iscen@duke.edu


  • Jentleson, Katie
    Advisor:
    Area: The Art of the United States Modern and Contemporary Art American Folk and Self-Taught Art The History of Art Markets Museum Studies
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: "Gatecrashers: The First Generation of Outsider Artists in America" (dissertation chair: Richard J. Powell); Essay under peer review: “Curating Lockett: An Exhibition History in Two Acts,” coauthored with Thomas Lax in Once Something Has Lived it Can Never Really Die: The Art of Ronald Lockett, ed. Bernie Herman, Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015; Article manuscript: “The Most Truly American:” John Kane’s Naturalized Appeal"; Article manuscript: "Pedagogical Consumption: The Fantasy Collecting Game," coauthored with William Shaw, Digital Humanities Technology Consultant at Duke.
    katherine.jentleson@duke.edu, Instructional Staff, Grad Student


  • Klein, Lidia
    Advisor:
    Area:
    lidia.klein@duke.edu


  • Kolodziej, Magdalena P
    Advisor:
    Area:
    magdalena.kolodziej@duke.edu


  • Kornegay, Kevin
    Advisor:
    Area: Northern Renaissance and Baroque Art
    kevin.kornegay@duke.edu


  • Kwon, Esther J
    Advisor:
    Area:
    esther.kwon@lawnet.duke.edu, Student


  • Lazarus, Amanda N.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    amanda.lazarus@duke.edu


  • LeGrand, Luke C.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    luke.legrand@duke.edu


  • Luse, Emilie A.
    Advisor: European Modernism
    Area: History of Third Republic France European Avant-Gardes Primitivism Art Criticism Anti-Semitism The return to order/'le retour à l'ordre'
    Dissertation Title: Teaching: Art, Money & Labor, Summer Session I, 2015
    emilie.luse@duke.edu


  • Manning, Stephanie M.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    stephanie.manning@duke.edu


  • Mazurek, Lindsey A
    Advisor:
    Area: Egyptianizing Art and Architecture Romanization and Colonialism Cult in Society Hellenistic and Roman Sculpture
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation Title: Globalizing the Sculptural Landscape of Isis and Serapis Cults in Roman Greece Edited Volume forthcoming from Ashgate Press (with Cavan Concannon of USC): Across the Corrupting Sea: Post-Braudelian Approaches to the Ancient Eastern Mediterranean
    lindsey.mazurek@duke.edu, Graduate Assistant


  • McCusker, Katherine L.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    katherine.mccusker@duke.edu


  • Moure Cecchini, Laura
    Advisor:
    Area: Reactionary Modernism Artistic exchanges between Italy and Latin America Nationalism and the Visual Arts
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: "Reimagining the Baroque in Italian Modernism. From the Fin-de-siècle to Fascism" (Advisor: Mark Antliff)
    laura.moure.cecchini@duke.edu, Instructional Staff, Grad Student


  • Myers, Henrietta
    Advisor:
    Area:
    henrietta.myers@duke.edu


  • Narkin, Elisabeth D.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    elisabeth.narkin@duke.edu


  • Nguyen, Hung X.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    hung.nguyen@duke.edu, of Art, Art History & Visual Studies and English


  • Orzulak, Jessica L.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    jessica.orzulak@duke.edu


  • Pissini, Jessica M
    Advisor:
    Area:
    jessica.pissini@duke.edu, Student


  • Romero, Rosalia
    Advisor:
    Area:
    rosalia.romero@duke.edu


  • Shareef, Shahrazad A.
    Advisor:
    Area: Contemporary Art Criticism Politics of Abstraction and Experimentation in Painting and Photography Post-1945 Artists of the United States Critical Theory The Legacy of the Avant-Garde The role of Otherness in Portraiture and Performance
    shahrazad.shareef@duke.edu, of Art, Art History & Visual Studies and Literature


  • Shea, Tim
    Advisor:
    Area:
    timothy.shea@duke.edu


  • Sherman, Erica E.
    Advisor: Caroline Bruzelius
    Area: Latin American Colonial Architecture and Urban Development
    erica.sherman@duke.edu


  • Smith, Hilary
    Advisor:
    Area: Visual Culture in Northern Europe and France, 15th-18th centuries The Emergence of Art Markets Social, Urban, and Economic History Auction, Game & Consumer Theory
    Dissertation Title: "Auction Catalogues and the Economics of Information in the Eighteenth-Century Parisian Art Market" (Advisor: Dr. Hans J. van Miegroet)
    hilary.c.smith@duke.edu, Instructional Staff, Grad Student


  • Stemberger, Claudia M.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    claudia.stemberger@duke.edu


  • Symuleski, Max
    Advisor:
    Area:
    max.symuleski@duke.edu


  • Tan, Vivian
    Advisor:
    Area:
    li.xian.tan@duke.edu


  • Tang, Kelly C.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    kelly.tang@duke.edu


  • Tauschinger-Dempsey, Michael
    Advisor:
    Area:
    michael.tauschinger.dempsey@duke.edu


  • Williams, Joseph C.
    Advisor: Medieval architecture in South Italy, Commerce and urbanism in the medieval Mediterranean, Architectural practice and stereotomy, Historical GIS
    Area: Medieval architecture in South Italy Islamic and Byzantine architecture in the Mediterranean Medieval and early modern Mediterranean cities Medieval stereotomy and building techniques Practice theory Historical GIS
    Dissertation Title: "Architectural Practice in the Medieval Mediterranean: The Church of S. Corrado in Molfetta"
    joseph.c.williams@duke.edu


  • Yoldas, Pinar
    Advisor:
    Area:
    pinar.yoldas@duke.edu


  • Zhang, Alta
    Advisor:
    Area:
    zhuyun.zhang@duke.edu


  • Zhao, Yuchen
    Advisor:
    Area:
    yuchen.zhao1@duke.edu