Faculty
PhD Program
Undergraduates
Staff & Support
Visual Resources
News & Events
Links

Home :: PhD Program ::

PhD Program:

 

 Program Description | Courses | Resources | Requirements & Applications | Students

  • Bago, Ivana
    Advisor:
    Area:
    ivana.bago@duke.edu


  • Baltes, Elizabeth P.
    Advisor:
    Area: Classical and Hellenistic Greek sculpture Spatial theory Public monuments
    elizabeth.baltes@duke.edu


  • Bateman, Anita N.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    anita.bateman@duke.edu


  • Boucher, Marie-Pier
    Advisor:
    Area: Visual Studies and Critical Media Theory; Philosophy and Pragmatism; Complex Systems Theory; Bio and Neurosciences; Architectural and Spatial Practices
    mariepier.boucher@duke.edu


  • Bray, Patricia L.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    patricia.bray@duke.edu


  • Choi, Jung E.
    Advisor: Mark B.N. Hansen
    Area: Visual Culture Theory & New Media Studies
    jung.choi@duke.edu


  • Clark, Alexis M.
    Advisor: Neil McWilliam and Patricia Leighten
    Area: 19th c. European Art
    alexis.clark@duke.edu


  • Cornejo, Kency
    Advisor:
    Area: Modern and Contemporary Latin American Art Contemporary Central American Art Latina/o & Chicana/o Art Visual Studies & Theory Postcolonial Theory, & Decolonial Thinking
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: “Visual Disobedience: The Geopolitics of Experimental Art in Central America, 1990-Present”
    kency.cornejo@duke.edu


  • Cronheim, Hilary Coe
    Advisor:
    Area: Visual Culture in Northern Europe and France, 15th-18th centuries The Emergence of Art Markets Social, Urban, and Economic History Auction, Game & Consumer Theory
    Dissertation Title: "The Role of the Auction Catalogue in the Growth of the Parisian Art Market, 1675-1789" (Advisor: Dr. Hans J. van Miegroet)
    hilary.c.smith@duke.edu


  • D'Antonio, Aurelia E.
    Advisor: Architecture and Urbanism of the Italian Middle Ages; Restoration History & Historiography
    Area: Interests include: the architecture of medieval Italy, particularly the mendicant Orders and civic structures; medieval urbanism; the restoration of medieval buildings and city centers in the 19th and 20th centuries and the economic, political and social contexts of architecture
    Dissertation Title: "Throwing Stones at Friars: The Church of San Francesco in Piacenza"
    aurelia.dantonio@duke.edu


  • de Vos Devine, Katherine
    Advisor:
    Area: Contemporary Art Intellectual Property Censorship Art Markets
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: “Transformations: Contemporary Art, Copyright, and Fair Use” (Advisors: Kristine Stiles and Hans J. Van Miegroet)
    katherine.devine@duke.edu


  • Desplanque, Kathryn
    Advisor:
    Area:
    kathryn.desplanque@duke.edu


  • Dickens, Sarah Jones
    Advisor:
    Area: Contemporary Global Art and Visual Culture Contemporary Southeast Art History 20th century Cambodian and Vietnamese Art History Modernism & Cultural Politics Genocide Studies Trauma Studies Post-Colonial Studies The Khmer Rouge
    sarah.dickens@duke.edu


  • Dodson, Alexandra T.
    Advisor:
    Area: Mendicant architecture in Italy Gothic sculpture Late medieval and early Renaissance painting Islamic Art Use of digital technologies for visualizing historic material
    alexandra.dodson@duke.edu


  • Dundas, Iara A.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    iara.dundas@duke.edu


  • Goknur, Sinan C.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    sinan.goknur@duke.edu


  • Ha, Jungmin
    Advisor: Stan Abe
    Area: Asian Art
    jungmin.ha@duke.edu


  • Hanas, Erin
    Advisor:
    Area:
    erin.hanas@duke.edu


  • Jentleson, Katherine L.
    Advisor:
    Area: The Art of the United States Modern and Contemporary Art American Folk and Self-Taught Art The History of Art Markets Museum Studies
    katherine.jentleson@duke.edu


  • Kivlan, Anna K.
    Advisor: Richard Powell
    Area: Modern Art, American Art, Photography
    anna.kivlan@duke.edu


  • Klein, Lidia
    Advisor:
    Area:
    lidia.klein@duke.edu


  • Kolodziej, Magdalena P.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    magdalena.kolodziej@duke.edu


  • Kornegay, Kevin D.
    Advisor:
    Area: Northern Renaissance and Baroque Art
    kevin.kornegay@duke.edu


  • Lazarus, Amanda N.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    amanda.lazarus@duke.edu


  • Lee, Young Ji
    Advisor: Advisors: Stanley Abe, Kristine Stiles
    Area: East Asian Art
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: Recoding Capitals: Socialist Realism and Maoist Images(1949-1976)
    youngji.lee@duke.edu


  • LeMieux, Patrick
    Advisor:
    Area:
    patrick.lemieux@duke.edu


  • Luse, Emilie A.
    Advisor:
    Area: France Interwar France Modernism Anti-Modernism The return to order/'le retour à l'ordre'
    emilie.luse@duke.edu


  • Maroja, Camila
    Advisor:
    Area: Postcolonial Studies and Decolonial Theory Globalization and Nationalism Art History Surveys Global Art Feminism
    camila.maroja@duke.edu


  • Mazurek, Lindsey A.
    Advisor:
    Area: Egyptianizing Art and Architecture Romanization and Colonialism Cult in Society Hellenistic and Roman Sculpture
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation Title: Globalizing the Sculptural Landscape of Isis and Serapis Cults in Roman Greece
    lindsey.mazurek@duke.edu


  • Moure Cecchini, Laura
    Advisor:
    Area: Reactionary Modernism Artistic exchanges between Italy and Latin America Nationalism and the Visual Arts
    Dissertation Title: Dissertation: "Reimagining the Baroque in Italian Modernism. From the Fin-de-siècle to Fascism" (Advisor: Mark Antliff)
    lm169@duke.edu


  • Narkin, Elisabeth D.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    elisabeth.narkin@duke.edu


  • Rivera, Fredo
    Advisor: Rick Powell, Esther Gabara
    Area: Caribbean Art + Visual Culture, Modern Latin America, Architecture + Urbanism in the Global South
    alfredo.rivera@duke.edu


  • Romero, Rosalia
    Advisor:
    Area:
    rosalia.romero@duke.edu


  • Routh, Mitali
    Advisor:
    Area: History and Theory of Sculpture; Intermedia; Performance Art; Expanded Cinema; Phenomenology; Animal Studies
    Dissertation Title: "Matthew Barney - Deadpan, Animality, and the Sculptural Idiom"
    mitali.routh@duke.edu


  • Shareef, Shahrazad A.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    shahrazad.shareef@duke.edu


  • Shea, Timothy D.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    timothy.shea@duke.edu


  • Sherman, Erica
    Advisor: Caroline Bruzelius
    Area: Latin American Colonial Architecture and Urban Development
    erica.sherman@duke.edu


  • Symuleski, Margaret J.
    Advisor:
    Area:
    max.symuleski@duke.edu


  • Tauschinger-Dempsey, Michael
    Advisor:
    Area:
    michael.tauschinger.dempsey@duke.edu


  • Van Ginhoven, Sandra
    Advisor: Hans J. Van Miegroet
    Area: Early Modern European Art and Art Market
    sandra.vanginhoven@duke.edu


  • Williams, Joseph C.
    Advisor:
    Area: Medieval South Italy Mediterranean cross-cultural encounters Architectural practice and stereotomy Social effects of built space Digital humanities
    Dissertation Title: "Multiple Identities and Church Building in the Mediterranean: the Architectural History of Molfetta Cathedral (ca. 1148-1285)"
    joseph.c.williams@duke.edu


  • Yoldas, Pinar
    Advisor:
    Area:
    pinar.yoldas@duke.edu


 

Link to Duke Home Link to AAH Home