Toril Moi, James B. Duke Professor of Literature and Professor of Philosophy and English and Romance Studies and Theater Studies and Director of PAL    editToril Moi

Toril Moi has three broad areas of interest: feminist theory and women's writing; the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics; and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Cavell and Austin.

Toril Moi also works on theater. In her work on literature and theater she is particularly interested in the emergence of modernism in the late 19th century and early 20th century.

Her books include Sexual/Textual Politics: Feminist Literary Theory (1985; 2nd edition 2002), Simone de Beauvoir: The Making of an Intellectual Woman (1994; second edition with a major new introduction 2008); and What Is a Woman? And Other Essays (1999), republished in a shorter version as Sex, Gender and the Body (2005). She is the editor of The Kristeva Reader (1986), and of French Feminst Thought (1987).

In 2006, Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosphy, was published in English by Oxford University Press and in Norwegian by Pax Forlag (Oslo). The book won the MLA's Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for the best book in Comparative Literary Studies in 2007. It is now available in paperback.

Toril Moi now works on three projects: (1) The Emergence of European Modernism 1870-1914; (2) Femisist Theory and Women Writers; and (3) "Pictures of Language": on the vision of language in ordinary language philosophy. She also continues to work on Henrik Ibsen's plays.

Toril Moi enjoys working with students at all levels. She won Duke's Univeristy Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award in 1998, and the Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring of Graduate Students in 2008.

In her native Norway, Toril Moi writes a regular column for the cultural newspaper Morgenbladet.

Office Location: 114 S. Buchanan Boulevard, B184 Smith Warehouse, Durham, NC 27708-0403
Office Phone: (919) 684-4127, (919) 668-6407
Email Address: send me a message
Web Page: https://db.tt/uyyySRqN

Education:
Dr. Art., University of Bergen, 1985
Mag. art., University of Bergen, 1980

Specialties:
French
Critical Theory
French Literature
European Studies
Comparative Literature
Gender Studies, Feminism, Women Studies, Queer Studies
Modernity and Modernism
Modern and Contemporary
Critical Theory, Philosophy
Comparative Studies: Translation, Travel Narratives, Trans-Culturality

Research Interests: Feminism, Philosophy & Literature, Women Writers, Theater, 19th & 20th Century European Literature
Current projects: The Emergence of European Modernism 1870-1914, Feminist Theory and Women Writers, Pictures of Language: ordinary language philosophy

Toril Moi has three broad areas of interest: feminist theory and women's writing; the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics; and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Cavell and Austin.

Toril Moi also works on theater. In her work on literature and theater she is particularly interested in the emergence of modernism in the late 19th century and early 20th century.

Her books include Sexual/Textual Politics: Feminist Literary Theory (1985; 2nd edition 2002), Simone de Beauvoir: The Making of an Intellectual Woman (1994; second edition with a major new introduction 2008); and What Is a Woman? And Other Essays (1999), republished in a shorter version as Sex, Gender and the Body (2005). She is the editor of The Kristeva Reader (1986), and of French Feminist Thought (1987).

In 2006, Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosophy, was published in English by Oxford University Press and in Norwegian by Pax Forlag (Oslo). The book won the MLA's Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for the best book in Comparative Literary Studies in 2007. It is now available in paperback.

Toril Moi now works on a book on ordinary language philosophy and literary theory. She also continues to write on feminist theory and women writers; and on Henrik Ibsen's plays.

Toril Moi enjoys working with students at all levels. She won Duke's University Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award in 1998, and the Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring of Graduate Students in 2008.

She continues to write broadly for newspapers in her native Norway.

To find more information on Toril Moi's work, please see her personal website: www.torilmoi.com.

Areas of Interest:
Feminism
Modernism
Simone de Beauvoir
Henrik Ibsen
Ordinary Language Philosophy
Aesthetics
Women Writers
Theater
19th and 20th Century European Literature

Teaching (Fall 2016):

Representative Publications   (More Publications)

Picture credit: Oscar Einzig Photography.