Graduate Faculty

jump to:  

Alberts, Susan C, Professor
(919) 660-7272
alberts@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/albertslab

Behavorial ecology and ecological genetics of large mammals

Baugh, Ryan, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-8179
ryan.baugh@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/baughlab

Developmental genetics and genomics

Bejsovec, Amy, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8162
bejsovec@duke.edu

Genetic control of cell fate specification in Drosophila

Benfey, Philip N, Paul Kramer Professor and Director, Center for Systems Biology
613-8182, 660-7338
philip.benfey@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/benfeylab

Plant Developmental Genetics and Genomics

Bernhardt, Emily S., Associate Professor
(919) 660-7318
emily.bernhardt@duke.edu
http://www.bernhardtlab.weebly.com

ecosystem ecology and biogeochemistry

Bhandawat, Vikas, Assistant Professor
919-684-1703
bhandawat@gmail.com
http://biology.duke.edu/bhandawatlab/

Drosophila olfaction

Buchler, Nicolas, Assistant Professor of Biology and Physics
(919) 699-8209
nicolas.buchler@duke.edu
http://buchler.phy.duke.edu/

Molecular mechanisms and the evolution of switches and oscillators in gene networks; systems biology; comparative genomics

Chen, Meng, Assistant Professor
(919) 684-8442
meng.chen@duke.edu
http://www.plasticgenome.org/

Mechanisms of light signaling and regulation of nuclear organization in plants

Clark, James S., H.L. Blomquist Professor of Environment and Professor of Biology and Professor of Statistics
(919) 613-8036
jimclark@duke.edu
http://sites.nicholas.duke.edu/clarklab/

Ecology

Cunningham, Clifford, Professor
(919) 660-7356
cliff@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/cunningham/

Evolution and biogeography of marine invertebrates

Dong, Xinnian, Professor
(919) 613-8176
xdong@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/donglab/

Plant-Microbe interactions

Donohue, Kathleen, Professor
(919) 613-7467
k.donohue@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/donohuelab

Evolutionary ecology and genetics of natural plant populations, genetic basis of adaptation, gene-environment interactions

Haase, Steve, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8205
shaase@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/haaselab/index.html

Control of cell cycle, DNA replication, and centrosome duplication in budding yeast

Johnsen, Sonke, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
(919) 660-7321
sjohnsen@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/johnsenlab/

Comparative physiology; focusing on vision, crypsis, optics, and bioluminescence in the open ocean

Kiehart, Daniel P, Professor and Dean of Natural Sciences
919-613-8157, 919-613-8150, 919-613-8151
dkiehart@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kiehartlab/

Biophysical approaches to cellular, molecular and developmental biology

Koelle, Katia, Assistant Professor
(919) 660-9457
katia.koelle@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/koelle/

Theoretical biology; ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Leal, Manuel S, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-8220
mleal@duke.edu
http://www.chipojolab.org/

Behavioral and Evolutionary Ecology of Lizards, Animal Communication

Lutzoni, Francois M, Associate Professor
(919) 660-7261
francois.lutzoni@duke.edu
http://www.lutzonilab.net/index.shtml

Evolution of symbiotic systems

Magwene, Paul M, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8159
paul.magwene@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/magwenelab/

Evolutionary Genomics, Systems Biology, and Bioinformatics

Manos, Paul S, Professor and Associate Chair
(919) 660-7358
pmanos@duke.edu

Systematics and phylogeography of flowering plants

McClay, David R, Professor
919-613-8188, 919-613-8190
dmcclay@duke.edu

Developmental Biology

McShea, Dan, Professor
919-660-7342 office, 660-7343 lab
dmcshea@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mcshealab/

Hierarchy Theory, Macroevolution, Philosophy of Biology

Mitchell-Olds, Thomas, Professor
(919) 668-1635
tmo1@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mitchell-olds/

Ecological and evolutionary genomics; Complex trait variation; Drought tolerance and food security

Morris, William F, Professor
(919) 684-5257
wfmorris@duke.edu

Population ecology, mutualism, plant-insect interations, life-history adaptations to stochastic environments, theoretical ecology, conservation ecology

Nijhout, H Frederik, Professor
919-684-4223
hfn@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nijhout/

Developmental physiology/development and evolution

Noor, Mohamed A., Professor and Chair
919-613-8156, 919-660-7338
noor@duke.edu
http://sites.google.com/site/noorlabduke/

Speciation and evolutionary genetics, recombination

Nowicki, Stephen, Professor of Biology and Dean of Undergraduate Education
919-668-3420, 919-684-6950
snowicki@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nowicki/

Function, structure, and evolution of animal signaling systems

Patek, Sheila, Associate Professor
919-613-8306
sheila.patek@duke.edu
http://www.thepateklab.org/


Pei, Zhen-Ming, Associate Professor
919-613-8152 (office), 613-8165 (lab)
zpei@duke.edu

Plant Sensory Signal Transduction

Pryer, Kathleen M., Professor
(919) 660-7380
pryer@duke.edu
http://pryerlab.biology.duke.edu

Evolutionary biology of early land plants

Rausher, Mark D, Professor
(919) 684-2295
mrausher@duke.edu
http://www.duke.edu/~mrausher/

Evolutionary Genetics and Molecular Evolution

Reynolds, James F., Professor of Environmental Science and Biology
(919) 660-7404
james.f.reynolds@duke.edu
http://www.nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/reynolds.html

Land degradation in arid and semiarid rangelands; Experimental and modeling studies of effects of elevated CO2 and rainfall variability on dryland ecosystems

Rodrigo, Allen G., Professor and Director of NESCent
919-684-1698
a.rodrigo@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/rodrigolab

Computational evolutionary biology

Roth, V. Louise, Associate Professor
919-660-7352, 660-7353
vlroth@duke.edu

Morphological and molecular evolution in mammals: size, shape, and ontogeny

Schmid, Amy K, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-4464
amy.schmid@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/schmidlab

Systems biology of archaea: understanding regulatory network responses to environmental extremes

Shaw, Jonathan, Professor
(919) 660-7344
shaw@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/bryology

Evolution and diversity of bryophytes

Sherwood, David R., Associate Professor
(919) 613-8192
david.sherwood@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/sherwoodlab

Understanding morphogenetic mechanisms in development

Sherwood, Nina T, Assistant Research Professor and IGSP Scholar
919-684-8658
nina.sherwood@duke.edu

Functions of spastin and other microtubule severing proteins in the nervous system; Drosophila models of human disease

Siedow, James N., Professor and Vice Provost for Research
(919) 681-6438
jim.siedow@duke.edu

Function and regulation of plant respiratory pathways

Smith, Kathleen K, Professor
(919) 684-3402
kksmith@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kksmithlab

Functional morphology and evolution of vertebrates; craniofacial development, evolutionary morphology

Sun, Tai-ping, Professor
(919) 613-8166
tps@duke.edu

Mechanisms of phytohormone controlled growth and development

Uyenoyama, Marcy K, Professor
(919) 660-7350
marcy@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/marcylab/

Population genetics, molecular evolution

Vilgalys, Rytas, Professor
919-660-7361, 660-7362
fungi@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/fungi/mycolab/

Phylogenetic systematics and molecular evolution in fungi

Volkan, Pelin Cayirlioglu, Assistant Professor
919-684-1150
pc72@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/volkanlab/volkan/Home.html

Genetic Regulation of Olfactory Circuit Assembly and Remodeling in Drosophila

Willard, Huntington F, Director, Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy and Professor of Biology and Vice Chancellor for Genome Sciences
(919) 668-4477
hunt.willard@duke.edu
http://www.genome.duke.edu/people/faculty//willard

Genome biology, human genetics and genomics

Willis, John H, Professor
919-660-7340
jwillis@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/willislab

Evolutionary genetics in natural plant populations

Wilson, William, Associate Professor
(919) 660-7346
wgw@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wilson


Wray, Gregory A, Professor of Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology and Director, Center for Evolutionary Genomics
(919) 684-6696
gwray@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wraylab

Evolution of gene networks and developmental mechanisms

Wright, Justin, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-8096
justin.wright@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wrightlab/

Community, Landscape and Ecosystem Ecology

Yoder, Anne D., Professor and Director, Duke Lemur Center
(919) 660-7275

http://www.biology.duke.edu/yoderlab/

Phylogeny and evolution of mammals, ; conservation genetics; historical biogeography and biodiversity of Madagascar

Duke Biology Box 90338 Durham, NC 27708 Phone: 919-660-7372 Fax: 919-660-7293