Graduate Faculty

jump to:  

Alberts, Susan C., Robert F. Durden Professor of Biology and Professor in the Divison and Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology and Faculty Network Member of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences and Faculty Research Scholar of DuPRI's Center for Population Health & Aging and Faculty Research Scholar of DuPRI's Population Research Center and Chai
(919) 660-7272
alberts@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/albertslab/

Behavorial ecology and ecological genetics of large mammals

Baugh, L. Ryan, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-8179
ryan.baugh@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/baughlab

Developmental genetics and genomics

Bejsovec, Amy, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8162
bejsovec@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/bejsoveclab/

Genetic control of cell fate specification in Drosophila

Benfey, Philip N., Paul Kramer Professor and Investigator, HHMI
(919) 660-7338
philip.benfey@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/benfeylab

Plant Developmental Genetics and Genomics

Bernhardt, Emily S., Professor of Biology and Associate Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy and Faculty Network Member of Energy Initiative
(919) 660-7318
emily.bernhardt@duke.edu
http://www.researcherid.com/rid/D-9940-2011

ecosystem ecology and biogeochemistry

Bhandawat, Vikas, Assistant Professor of Biology and Neurobiology and Investigator of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
(919) 684-1703
bhandawat@gmail.com
http://biology.duke.edu/bhandawatlab/

Drosophila olfaction

Buchler, Nicolas, Assistant Professor of Biology and Physics
(919) 699-8209
nicolas.buchler@duke.edu
http://buchler.phy.duke.edu/

Molecular mechanisms and the evolution of switches and oscillators in gene networks; systems biology; comparative genomics

Cunningham, Clifford W., Professor of Biology and Faculty Research Scholar of DuPRI's Center for Population Health & Aging
(919) 660-7356
cliff@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/cunningham/

Evolution and biogeography of marine invertebrates

Dong, Xinnian, Arts and Sciences Professor
(919) 613-8176
xdong@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/donglab/

Plant-Microbe interactions

Donohue, Kathleen, Professor
(919) 613-7467
k.donohue@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/donohuelab

Evolutionary ecology and genetics of natural plant populations, genetic basis of adaptation, gene-environment interactions

Haase, Steven B., Associate Professor
(919) 613-8205
steve.haase@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/haaselab/index.html

Control of cell cycle, DNA replication, and centrosome duplication in budding yeast

Johnsen, Sonke, Professor of Biology and Faculty Network Member of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
(919) 660-7321
sjohnsen@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/johnsenlab/

Comparative physiology; focusing on vision, crypsis, optics, and bioluminescence in the open ocean

Kiehart, Daniel P., Professor of Biology and Cell Biology and Affiliate of the Duke Initiative for Science & Society and Dean of the Natural Sciences
(919) 613-8157
dkiehart@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kiehartlab/

Biophysical approaches to cellular, molecular and developmental biology

Koelle, Katharina V., Associate Professor of Biology and Affiliate, Duke Global Health Institute of Duke Global Health Institute
(919) 660-9457
katia.koelle@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/koelle/

Theoretical biology; ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Lutzoni, Francois M., Professor
(919) 660-7261
francois.lutzoni@duke.edu
http://lutzonilab.org

Evolution of symbiotic systems

Magwene, Paul M., Associate Professor of Biology and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology and Director of the PhD Program in Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
(919) 613-8159
paul.magwene@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/magwenelab/

Evolutionary Genomics, Systems Biology, and Bioinformatics

Manos, Paul S., Jack H. Neely Professor
(919) 660-7358
pmanos@duke.edu

Systematics and phylogeography of flowering plants

McClay, David R., Arthur S. Pearse Professor of Biology and Professor of Neurobiology
(919) 613-8188
dmcclay@duke.edu

Developmental Biology

McShea, Daniel W., Professor of Biology and Associate Professor of Philosophy and Affiliate of the Duke Initiative for Science & Society
(919) 660-7342
dmcshea@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mcshealab/

Hierarchy Theory, Macroevolution, Philosophy of Biology

Mitchell-Olds, Thomas, Newman Ivey White Professor
(919) 668-1635
tmo1@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mitchell-olds/

Ecological and evolutionary genomics; Complex trait variation; Drought tolerance and food security

Morris, William F., Professor
(919) 684-5257
wfmorris@duke.edu

Population ecology, mutualism, plant-insect interations, life-history adaptations to stochastic environments, theoretical ecology, conservation ecology

Nijhout, H. Frederik, John Franklin Crowell Professor
(919) 684-2793
hfn@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nijhout/

Developmental physiology/development and evolution

Noor, Mohamed A., Earl D. McLean Professor
(919) 613-8156
noor@duke.edu
http://sites.google.com/site/noorlabduke/

Speciation and evolutionary genetics, recombination

Nowicki, Stephen, Professor of Biology and Neurobiology and Psychology and Neuroscience and Bass Fellow and Faculty Network Member of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
(919) 684-6950, (919) 668-3420
snowicki@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nowicki/

Function, structure, and evolution of animal signaling systems

Patek, Sheila N, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8306
snp2@duke.edu
http://www.thepateklab.org/


Pei, Zhen-Ming, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8152
zpei@duke.edu

Plant Sensory Signal Transduction

Pryer, Kathleen M., Professor
(919) 660-7380
pryer@duke.edu
http://pryerlab.biology.duke.edu

Evolutionary biology of early land plants

Rausher, Mark D., John Carlisle Kilgo Professor
(919) 684-2295
mrausher@duke.edu
http://www.duke.edu/~mrausher/

Evolutionary Genetics and Molecular Evolution

Roth, V. Louise, Professor of Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology
(919) 660-7352
vlroth@duke.edu

Morphological and molecular evolution in mammals: size, shape, and ontogeny

Schmid, Amy K., Assistant Professor of Biology and Faculty Network Member of Energy Initiative
(919) 613-4464
amy.schmid@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/schmidlab

Systems biology of archaea: understanding regulatory network responses to environmental extremes

Shaw, A. Jonathan, Professor
(919) 660-7344
shaw@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/bryology

Evolution and diversity of bryophytes

Sherwood, David R., Associate Professor of Biology and Cell Biology
(919) 613-8192
david.sherwood@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/sherwoodlab

Understanding morphogenetic mechanisms in development

Sherwood, Nina T., Associate Professor of the Practice and Assistant Research Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology and Faculty Network Member of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
(919) 684-8658
nina.sherwood@duke.edu

Functions of spastin and other microtubule severing proteins in the nervous system; Drosophila models of human disease

Siedow, James N., Professor Emeritus
(919) 684-5445
jim.siedow@duke.edu

Function and regulation of plant respiratory pathways

Smith, Kathleen K., Professor of Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology
(919) 684-3402
kksmith@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kksmithlab

Functional morphology and evolution of vertebrates; craniofacial development, evolutionary morphology

Sun, Tai-ping, Professor
(919) 613-8166
tai.ping.sun@duke.edu

Mechanisms of phytohormone controlled growth and development

Uyenoyama, Marcy K., Professor
(919) 660-7350
marcy@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/marcylab/

Population genetics, molecular evolution

Vilgalys, Rytas J., Professor of Biology and Assistant Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
(919) 660-7361
fungi@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/fungi/mycolab/

Phylogenetic systematics and molecular evolution in fungi

Volkan, Pelin C., Assistant Professor of Biology and Neurobiology and Investigator of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
(919) 684-1150
pelin.volkan@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/volkanlab/volkan/Home.html

Genetic Regulation of Olfactory Circuit Assembly and Remodeling in Drosophila

Willis, John H., Professor
(919) 660-7340
jwillis@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/willislab

Evolutionary genetics in natural plant populations

Wilson, William G., Associate Professor
(919) 451-6688
wgw@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wilson


Wray, Gregory A., Professor of Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology and Director of the Center for Genomic and Computational Biology
(919) 684-6696
gwray@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wraylab

Evolution of gene networks and developmental mechanisms

Wright, Justin P., Associate Professor of Biology and Assistant Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 613-8096
justin.wright@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wrightlab/

Community, Landscape and Ecosystem Ecology

Yoder, Anne D., Professor of Biology and Affiliate of the Duke Initiative for Science & Society and Faculty Network Member of Duke Institute for Brain Sciences and Faculty Research Scholar of DuPRI's Center for Population Health & Aging
(919) 660-7275

http://www.biology.duke.edu/yoderlab/

Phylogeny and evolution of mammals, ; conservation genetics; historical biogeography and biodiversity of Madagascar