Biology: Faculty     List by titles  by specialties  by centers  names

Biology Faculty

jump to:  

Alberts, Susan C., Robert F. Durden Distinguished Professor and Bass Fellow
(919) 884-8714
alberts@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/albertslab/
http://sites.duke.edu/albertslab/

Behavorial ecology and ecological genetics of large mammals

Armaleo, Daniele, Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus
(919) 660-7326
darmaleo@duke.edu

Developmental and molecular biology of symbiosis in lichens

Barber, Richard T., Harvey W. Smith Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biological Oceanography in the Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences
(252) 504-7578
rbarber@duke.edu


Baugh, L. Ryan, Associate Professor and Affiliate of the Center for Genomic and Computational Biology
(919) 613-8179
ryan.baugh@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/baughlab
https://baughlab.biology.duke.edu/

Developmental genetics and genomics

Bejsovec, Amy, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8162
bejsovec@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/bejsoveclab/
http://sites.duke.edu/bejsoveclab/

Genetic control of cell fate specification in Drosophila

Benfey, Philip N., Paul Kramer Distinguished Professor and Investigator, HHMI
(919) 357-1743
philip.benfey@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/benfeylab

Plant Developmental Genetics and Genomics

Bernhardt, Emily S., James B. Duke Distinguished Professor
(919) 660-7318
emily.bernhardt@duke.edu
http://www.researcherid.com/rid/D-9940-2011
http://www.bernhardtlab.weebly.com

ecosystem ecology and biogeochemistry

Boynton, John E, Professor Emeritus

jboynton66@gmail.com


Brandon, Robert N., Professor of Philosophy
(919) 660-3067
rbrandon@duke.edu


Broverman, Sherryl A., Professor of the Practice
(919) 668-0228
sbrover@duke.edu
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zwcbUsZ73g
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLZ-8Kh6_n8

science literacy for non-majors; science education reform; the interaction of gender, education and global health

Bryan, Virginia S., Senior Research Scientist
(919) 660-7298
vsbryan@duke.edu

Systematics and Cytology; Bryophytes - Ephemeraceae

Buck, Dorothy E., Research Professor of Mathematics
(919) 660-2800
dbuck@math.duke.edu


Cary, Rebecca, Instructor B
(919) 660-7442
rec3@duke.edu


Cechmanek, Paula B., Instructor B

paula.cechmanek@duke.edu
https://www.cechmanek.ca/paula/


Christensen, Norman L., Professor Emeritus in the Division of Environmental Sciences & Policy
(919) 613-8052
normc@duke.edu
http://www.env.duke.edu/people/faculty/christensen.html


Ciocanel, Maria-Veronica, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
(919) 660-2800
ciocanel@math.duke.edu
https://services.math.duke.edu/~ciocanel/


Clark, James S., Nicholas Distinguished Professor of Environmental Science
(919) 613-8036
jimclark@duke.edu
http://sites.nicholas.duke.edu/clarklab/
https://sites.nicholas.duke.edu/clarklab/

Ecology

Coggins, Brian E., Assistant Research Professor of Biochemistry
(919) 684-7772
bec2@duke.edu


Crowder, Larry B., NSOE Professor and Professor of Biology
(252) 504-7637
lcrowder@stanford.edu


Culberson, Chicita F, Senior Research Scientist
(919) 660-7300
cculb@duke.edu

Identification and chemistry of lichen products

Cunningham, Clifford W., Professor
(919) 660-7356
cliff@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/cunningham/

Evolution and biogeography of marine invertebrates

Dong, Ke, Professor
(919) 613-8155
ke.dong@duke.edu


Dong, Xinnian, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor
(919) 613-8176
xdong@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/donglab/
http://www.sites.duke.edu/donglab

Plant-Microbe interactions

Donohue, Kathleen, Professor
(919) 684-6095
k.donohue@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/donohuelab
http://biology.duke.edu/donohuelab

Evolutionary ecology and genetics of natural plant populations, genetic basis of adaptation, gene-environment interactions

Drea, Christine M., Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology
(919) 660-7367
cdrea@duke.edu
http://evolutionaryanthropology.duke.edu/research/drea-lab/people/dr-christine-drea
https://drealab.weebly.com/


Forward, Richard B., Professor Emeritus of Zoology
(252) 504-7610
rforward@duke.edu


Galef, Bennett G, Adjunct Professor
(919) 613-7372
galef@mcmaster.ca


Gibert, Jean P., Assistant Professor
(919) 660-7372
jean.gibert@duke.edu
https://jeanpgibert.weebly.com/


Goldberg, Amy, Assistant Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology

amy.goldberg@duke.edu
http://www.goldberglab.org


Grunwald, Ron, Senior Lecturer
(919) 660-7322
ron.grunwald@duke.edu

Membrane biochemistry

Haase, Steven B., Professor
(919) 613-8205
steve.haase@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/haaselab/index.html
http://sites.duke.edu/haaselab

Control of cell cycle, DNA replication, and centrosome duplication in budding yeast

Haga, Susanne B, Associate Professor in Medicine
(919) 684-0325
susanne.haga@duke.edu


Hartemink, Alexander J., Professor of Computer Science
(919) 660-6514
amink@cs.duke.edu
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-1292-2606
http://www.cs.duke.edu/~amink/


He, Sheng-Yang, Benjamin E. Powell Distinguished Professor
(919) 613-8155
shengyang.he@duke.edu
http://www.thehelab.org


Hill, Alison, Senior Lecturer
(919) 660-7349
alhill@duke.edu


Hoffmeister, Rachel, Instructor B

rachel.hoffmeister@duke.edu


Holmer, Stephanie M, Instructor B
(919) 660-7442
stephanie.holmer@duke.edu


Hunt, Dana E., Associate Professor of Microbial Ecology
(252) 504-7542
dana.hunt@duke.edu
http://oceanography.ml.duke.edu/hunt/


Isabella, Zoe K., Instructor B

zoe.isabella@duke.edu


Johnsen, Sonke, Professor
(919) 660-7321
sjohnsen@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/johnsenlab/
http://opticsoflife.org/

Comparative physiology; focusing on vision, crypsis, optics, and bioluminescence in the open ocean

Johnson, Zackary, Associate Professor of Biological Oceanography and Marine Bi
(252) 504-7543
zackary.johnson@duke.edu
http://sites.nicholas.duke.edu/johnson/


Kiehart, Daniel P., Professor
(919) 613-8157
dkiehart@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kiehartlab/
http://www.biology.duke.edu/kiehartlab/

Biophysical approaches to cellular, molecular and developmental biology

Kisirkoi, Grace, Instructor B

grace.kisirkoi@duke.edu


Klopfer, Peter H., Professor Emeritus
(919) 684-3991
phk@duke.edu

animal behavior and behavioral ecology

Kornbluth, Sally A., Jo Rae Wright University Distinguished Professor
(919) 684-2631
kornb001@mc.duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/kornbluthlab/


Lacey, Elizabeth, Adjunct Professor
(336) 334-4955
eplacey@uncg.edu


Lee, Charlotte, Scholar In Residence
(919) 613-0995
charlotte.t.lee@duke.edu
http://people.duke.edu/~cl297/


Lutzoni, Francois M., Professor
(919) 660-7261
francois.lutzoni@duke.edu
http://lutzonilab.org
http://www.lutzonilab.org

Evolution of symbiotic systems

Magwene, Paul M., Professor
(919) 613-8159
paul.magwene@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/magwenelab/
http://magwenelab.org

Evolutionary Genomics, Systems Biology, and Bioinformatics

Manos, Paul S., Jack H. Neely Professor
(919) 660-7358
pmanos@duke.edu

Systematics and phylogeography of flowering plants

McClay, David R., Arthur S. Pearse Distinguished Professor
(919) 613-8188
dmcclay@duke.edu

Developmental Biology

McShea, Daniel W., Professor
(919) 225-8679
dmcshea@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mcshealab/
http://www.biology.duke.edu/mcshealab/

Hierarchy Theory, Macroevolution, Philosophy of Biology

Mercer, John M., Professor of the Practice
(919) 660-7354
jmercer@duke.edu

Molecular evolution, Evolution, Mathematical biology, Morphometrics

Mitchell-Olds, Thomas, Newman Ivey White Distinguished Professor

tmo1@duke.edu
https://sites.duke.edu/tmolab/
https://sites.duke.edu/tmolab/

Ecological and evolutionary genomics; Complex trait variation; Drought tolerance and food security

Morris, William F., Professor
(919) 525-4585
wfmorris@duke.edu

Population ecology, mutualism, plant-insect interations, life-history adaptations to stochastic environments, theoretical ecology, conservation ecology

Motten, Alexander, Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus
(919) 684-2301
afmotten@duke.edu

Evolutionary ecology, plant reproductive biology, biodiversity

Nicklas, R. Bruce, Arthur S. Pearse Distinguished Professor Emeritus
(919) 613-8196
bnicklas@duke.edu

Mitosis and evolution

Nijhout, H. Frederik, John Franklin Crowell Distinguished Professor
(919) 684-2793
hfn@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nijhout/

Developmental physiology/development and evolution

Noor, Mohamed A., Professor and Bass Fellow
(919) 613-8156
noor@duke.edu
https://sites.google.com/view/noor-lab
https://sites.google.com/view/noor-lab

Speciation and evolutionary genetics, recombination

Nowicki, Stephen, Professor and Bass Fellow
(919) 684-6950
snowicki@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/nowicki/
http://www.nowickilab.org

Function, structure, and evolution of animal signaling systems

Onishi, Masayuki, Assistant Professor
(919) 613-7358
masayuki.onishi@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/onishilab


Ozdowski, Emily, Instructor
+1 919 684 5446
emily.ozdowski@duke.edu


Patek, Sheila N, Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor
(919) 613-8306
snp2@duke.edu
http://www.thepateklab.org/
http://www.thepateklab.org/


Pei, Zhen-Ming, Associate Professor
(919) 613-8152
zpei@duke.edu

Plant Sensory Signal Transduction

Perera, Nadeesha S, Instructor B

nadeesha.perera@duke.edu


Perz, Alyssa, Lecturer
(919) 684-9367
akperz@duke.edu


Poss, Kenneth D., James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Cell Biology
(919) 681-8457
ken.poss@duke.edu
http://www.cellbio.duke.edu/
https://sites.duke.edu/posslab/


Pryer, Kathleen M., Professor

pryer@duke.edu
http://pryerlab.biology.duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/pryerlab

Evolutionary biology of early land plants

Rausher, Mark D., John Carlisle Kilgo Distinguished Professor
(919) 684-2295
mrausher@duke.edu
http://www.duke.edu/~mrausher/

Evolutionary Genetics and Molecular Evolution

Reid, Chantal D., Emerita Assistant Professor of the Practice in the Division of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 660-7378
chantal@duke.edu

Physiological ecology and global change

Reynolds, James F., Professor Emeritus
(919) 660-7404
james.f.reynolds@duke.edu
http://www.nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/reynolds.html

Land degradation in arid and semiarid rangelands; Experimental and modeling studies of effects of elevated CO2 and rainfall variability on dryland ecosystems

Reynolds, Julie, Associate Professor of the Practice
(919) 681-6899
julie.a.reynolds@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/reynoldslab/

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Science Literacy and Civic Engagement, Writing-to-learn pedagogies

Rittschof, Daniel, Norman L. Christensen Distinguished Professor of Environmental Sciences
(252) 504-7634
ritt@duke.edu


Rosenberg, Alexander, R. Taylor Cole Distinguished Professor of Philosophy
(919) 660-3047
alexrose@duke.edu
http://www.alexrose46.com


Roth, V. Louise, Professor
(919) 660-7352
vlroth@duke.edu

Morphological and molecular evolution in mammals: size, shape, and ontogeny

Royal, Charmaine D., Robert O. Keohane Professor
(919) 668-6515
charmaine.royal@duke.edu


Schmid, Amy K., Associate Professor
(919) 613-4464
amy.schmid@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/schmidlab
http://www.biology.duke.edu/schmidlab

Systems biology of archaea: understanding regulatory network responses to environmental extremes

Schmidt, Christoph F., Hertha Sponer Distinguished Professor of Physics
(919) 660-2708
christoph.schmidt@duke.edu
https://schmidtlab.phy.duke.edu/


Searles, Richard B., Professor Emeritus of Botany
(919) 660-7336
searles100@aol.com

Seaweed flora of the Southeastern US and the Caribbean.

Shaw, A. Jonathan, Professor
(919) 660-7344
shaw@duke.edu
https://sites.duke.edu/bryology/

Evolution and diversity of bryophytes

Sherwood, David R., Jerry G. and Patricia Crawford Hubbard Professor
(919) 613-8192
david.sherwood@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/sherwoodlab
http://sites.duke.edu/sherwoodlab

Understanding morphogenetic mechanisms in development

Sherwood, Nina T., Associate Professor of the Practice

nina.sherwood@duke.edu

Functions of spastin and other microtubule severing proteins in the nervous system; Drosophila models of human disease

Shreve, Christopher F, Instructor B
(919) 368-6167
christopher.shreve@duke.edu


Siedow, James N., Professor Emeritus
(919) 684-5445
jim.siedow@duke.edu

Function and regulation of plant respiratory pathways

Silva, Gustavo M., Assistant Professor
(919) 684-8442
gustavo.silva@duke.edu
https://sites.duke.edu/silvalab/


Smith, Kathleen K., Professor Emerita
(919) 684-3402
kksmith@duke.edu
http://people.duke.edu/~kksmith/

Functional morphology and evolution of vertebrates; craniofacial development, evolutionary morphology

Spana, Eric P., Associate Professor of the Practice
(919) 613-8208
spana@duke.edu


Staddon, John E., James B. Duke Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Neuroscience
(919) 493-4398
jers@duke.edu


Strader, Lucia C., Associate Professor
(919) 660-0335
lucia.strader@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/strader


Strain, Boyd R., Professor Emeritus
(919) 384-2051
bstrain@duke.edu


Sun, Tai-ping, Professor
(919) 613-8166
tai.ping.sun@duke.edu

Mechanisms of phytohormone controlled growth and development

Terborgh, John W., James B. Duke Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Environmental Sciences
(919) 490-9081
manu@duke.edu


Tucker, Vance A., Professor Emeritus of Zoology
(919) 684-3484
vtucker@duke.edu


Tung, Jenny, Associate Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology
(919) 668-4912
jenny.tung@duke.edu
http://www.duke.edu/~jt5
http://www.tung-lab.org


Uyenoyama, Marcy K., Professor
(919) 660-7350
marcy@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/marcylab/
http://www.biology.duke.edu/marcylab/

Population genetics, molecular evolution

Vilgalys, Rytas J., Professor
(919) 660-7361
fungi@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/fungi/mycolab/
https://sites.duke.edu/vilgalyslab/

Phylogenetic systematics and molecular evolution in fungi

Volkan, Pelin C., Associate Professor
(919) 684-1150
pelin.volkan@duke.edu
http://biology.duke.edu/volkanlab/volkan/Home.html
https://sites.duke.edu/volkanlab/

Genetic Regulation of Olfactory Circuit Assembly and Remodeling in Drosophila

Wainwright, Stephen A., James B. Duke Professor Emeritus

sawanryt@duke.edu

Biomechanics; Design in organisms and engineering

Wernegreen, Jennifer J., Lee Hill Snowdon Associate Professor
(919) 681-0331
j.wernegreen@duke.edu
https://sites.duke.edu/wernegreenlab/


White, Richard A., University Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Botany
(919) 660-7305
rwhite@duke.edu

Comparative anatomy of vascular plants

Wilbur, Robert L., Professor Emeritus
(919) 660-7317
rwilbur@duke.edu

Systematics of vascular plants

Willard, Huntington F., Adjunct Professor
(919) 668-4477
hunt.willard@duke.edu

Genome biology, human genetics and genomics, epigenetics

Willis, John H., Professor
(919) 660-7340
jwillis@duke.edu
http://sites.duke.edu/willislab

Evolutionary genetics in natural plant populations

Wilson, William G., Associate Professor
(919) 451-6688
wgw@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wilson
http://www.constructedclimates.org/ConstructedClimates


Wray, Gregory A., Professor
(919) 684-6696
gwray@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wraylab
https://sites.duke.edu/wraylab/

Evolution of gene networks and developmental mechanisms

Wright, Justin P., Professor
(646) 825-1275
justin.wright@duke.edu
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wrightlab/
http://www.biology.duke.edu/wrightlab/

Community, Landscape and Ecosystem Ecology

Yoder, Anne D., Braxton Craven Distinguished Professor of Evolutionary Biology
(919) 660-7275

http://www.biology.duke.edu/yoderlab/
http://yoderlab.org

Phylogeny and evolution of mammals, ; conservation genetics; historical biogeography and biodiversity of Madagascar